Texas Child Support Duration. Texas law provides that the court “may order either or both parents to support a child” until either the child turns 18 or graduates from high school (the later of the two), the child emancipates by marriage, the disabilities of the child are removed, or the child dies.What is the legal age for child support in Texas?
Age of Majority. Texas' age of majority, or the age a child is legally considered an adult and no longer requires child support, is 18 years old. However, child support must be paid until the child turns 18 or he graduates high school, whichever event occurs first.When does child support end in Houston TX?
In most circumstances, a parent's obligation to continue paying child support ends when the child reaches the age of majority, which is 18 years old in Texas. However, some circumstances allow the support obligation to end before or after the child's 18th birthday.